The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 has recognized the great pioneering work in the field of laser done by Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland. Congratulations to the three of them for this well deserved recognition and especially to Dona Strickland for becoming only the third woman in history to win the physics prize. Her predecessor: Maria Goeppert-Mayer was awarded 55 years ago!

We are also especially happy for the Arthur Ashkin work recognition related with optical tweezers and their application to biological systems. It has been an inspiration for us. This acknowledgment represents an additional motivation to continue working on bringing the optical tweezers technology to the mainstream market of biomedical scientific instrumentation. The already proved potential of the technology and the research advances already done using them are extremely promising.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018. Nobel Media AB 2018. Mon. 22 Oct 2018.

You will find more details about the prize here.